When someone tells a friend or family member that he or she is considering filing for divorce, the individual is often met with well-intended but unsolicited advice based on the friend or relative’s personal opinion or experience. In order to obtain the best advice about divorce, one should schedule an appointment with a Dallas divorce attorney who can tailor a response to the particular circumstances of a particular marriage.
Although each case differs, there are some facts that will generally remain the same in every Texas divorce. For example, there is a 6-month residency requirement for filing a divorce and a 36-month separation requirement. What if a spouse falls in love with another person? They’ll have to wait at least one month after the divorce has been finalized before they can get remarried.
When compared to other states, Texas’s $235 filing fee is pretty much on par with the national average of $208. The minimum processing time of 240 days also lands Texas right in the middle in comparison to those of other states. The average of all state divorce rates comes out to 10 divorces per 1,000 residents in one year. Texas has a rate of 11 using the same scale.
As for alimony in a Texas divorce, there is a statutory list of guidelines for determining an order. The standard of living during the divorce is considered, and an adjustment can be made for a custodial parent. However, unlike some states, contributions that were made, whether monetary or nonmonetary, to help a spouse obtain an educational degree during the marriage are not considered.
Have more questions about specific issues involved in a Texas divorce? A post could never cover the endless list of answers that may apply to a particular situation, which is why that little piece of advice to consult with an attorney is such a good one.
Source: Find The Best, “Texas Divorce Laws And Guidelines,” Accessed April 16, 2014